Skip to content

Recipients of RCVS Honours

Below are summary citations for successful recipients of RCVS Honours from the last six years.


Honorary Associates

2014: No Honorary Associates were awarded this year

2013: Dr Kirsten Rausing for outstanding contributions to equine health and welfare through her work in the thoroughbred racing industry.

2012: Dr Douglas McGregor for work in the field of immunology and inspiring leadership in veterinary education and research.

2011: Professor Soraya Shirazi-Beechey for an outstanding contribution to our understanding of the molecular physiology of the intestinal tract of domesticated animals. 


2010: Dr Tony L J Lawrence for exemplary teaching and research in the field of nutrition and production in all aspects of livestock production.

2010: Professor Martin W Shirley for innovative research work and commercial development of important veterinary vaccines.

2009: Mr Martin Alder for his ongoing and considerable contribution to the veterinary profession through his editorship of The Veterinary Record.


2009: Carole Martin for her substantial contributions to the veterinary nursing profession.

Honorary Fellows

2014: Mr Andrew Holliman for his long service as a VIO, a highly respected pathologist with a particular interest in cattle and fish whose steady support and experience have proved invaluable to the North West veterinary community.

2014: Professor Maxwell Murray for his work with protozoal diseases particularly trypanosomosis, a highly respected mentor and role model during his career and in retirement.

2014: Mr Donald Rutty for his exemplary scientific work and his work as a comparative pathologist and MRCPath providing a unique bridge extrapolating animal-based knowledge to human clinical endeavour.

2013: Dr Joy Archer for commitment to the development and recognition of clinical pathology worldwide.

2013: Dr David Franklin for tireless enthusiasm and professionalism as an advisor and mentor for the veterinary profession.

2013: Mr Colin Whitaker for pioneering work in the identification and diagnosis of Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy.

2012: Mr Thomas Hildebrandt for outstanding contributions in the area of large zoological animal research, particularly elephant and rhinoceros reproductive biology.

2012: Professor Lance Lanyon for dedication and leadership in the field of veterinary education and significant development of the Royal Veterinary College. 

2011: Dr James K Kirkwood for an outstanding contribution to advancing standards in veterinary and welfare science throughout his career.


2011: Mr Desmond James Thompson for inspiring all with whom he comes into contact, both in terms of his clinical excellence and his efforts to promote animal health and welfare at all levels. 


2010: Professor Elizabeth Simpson for providing animmense service to the profession in promoting excellence in research training for veterinary graduates.

2010: Dr Peter L Roeder for significant contributions to the world eradicationof Rinderpest disease.

2009: Mrs Christine M Magrath for being an exemplary leader in the field of communications skills training for thousands of veterinary surgeons and undergraduates.


2009: Dr Colin F Burrows for his research and clinical work on gastrointestinal physiology, pathophysiology and diseases of the canine and feline gastrointestinal tract and for his outstanding promotion of continuing professional development and veterinary education.